I’ve lost my mind.

Leave a comment
Writing

I’ve literally lost my mind. I don’t know where it is. I don’t know where to go to find it. I don’t know what it’s trying to accomplish by deserting me. What betrayal.

As we grow older, people tell us that we’ve become more mature, more wise, more independent. Those are good things, right? Ha. I don’t really know what I’m getting at here. I wish I could just go inside my head, grab the first car that’s leading my train of thought, and pull. Everything would be so much easier, less jumbled I bet. But this is the human world, where people have to actually organize their own thoughts. Tiring, isn’t it?

Anyhow, I’ve come to the conclusion that I’ve become numb.

As I’ve aged, I’ve lost my creativity. I’ve lost the spark. I remember back when I was younger, I would write endlessly. I began penning several novels, only to stop in the middle of them all. I remember being so happy with my writing style and always being filled to the brim with new ideas. It was a colorful time, but much like an object left out in the sun, I’ve grown dimmer as time passed.

Things happened, life took over, and structure pounced. I only started to write freely again recently, and boy has it been hard. This proves, I guess, that practice is essential when wanting to become a good writer. I didn’t know. I don’t think I’m ever really going to take a break again. I’m working at getting back in the game, and this is why I’ve decided to put together a list of inspirational prompts.

Prompts
1.
Write a short scenario set in the kitchen of a fast-food restaurant
2.
If we assume ghosts are real, what type of ghost would you like to see?
3.
Elvis still gets 100 Valentines each year.  Tell about one of the people who sent one
4.
Make up a near-death experience (unless you have a real one)
5.
Write a short entry that ends with the line, “The silver dust of moonlight settled coldly on the night.”
6.
 A letter to someone you will never forget
7.
Write about the perfect character
8. Theme: Dew
9.
Write about the places that bring you peace
10.
Write about life from a child’s perspective
11.
Your love of lamps
12.
Your favorite pen(s)
13.
14.
15.
16.
17.
18.
19.
20.
21.
22.
23.
24.
25.
26.
27.
28.
29.
30.

Do any of you feel the same way or am I just bumbling along?

The Author

A reader, photographer, and writer of all things.

UNLEASH YOUR THOUGHTS HERE

