DIY Travel Journal

comments 4
Crafty / DIY / South Korea

I’ve always been entranced by how beautiful and creative art journals and travel journals are. I remember when I used to go on Pinterest for hours at a time and pin to my “Journal” board.

Because I am studying abroad in South Korea this summer for approximately six weeks, I decided that yes, I needed a journal, and no, I was not going to just buy another Moleskine (though that proposition was very very tempting). So voila! I created my own! It took a bit of thinking and visualizing before I actually put it together, but once I did, it didn’t take me more than a couple hours to assemble it.
DSC03176
For the cover, I bought a rough fabric sheet from Michaels and cut it according to how large my journal was. This was the last step, as I assembled the pages first. The outside isn’t finished because I’m sure the fabric won’t hold out too well. I’ll probably add in some cardboard or some sort of hard material to protect the pages. As well as a few quirky embellishments.

Overall, the larger pages are from an Amy Tan set of patterned paper and the little cards are either cut from cardstock or are from random Project Life kits. I tried to not add too many embellishments because I plan to do so afterwards.

DSC03180
DSC03182 DSC03184
This is my favorite page! The idea came from an accidental hole punch, when I punched a little too far into the white cardstock.
DSC03186 DSC03188 DSC03189 DSC03191 DSC03193 DSC03194
Yes, the dark red sheet on the right is cut at a slanted angle. DSC03195
I wanted my last page to be special and have a lot of room for my final thoughts, so I stamped a little “you are so loved” and drew notebook lines with my Pilot G2.

Yay! I’m so excited to fill up my pages with thoughts and memorabilia.

The Author

A reader, photographer, and writer of all things.

4 Comments

  1. That is so cool! I’d love to make one.
    I’m working on a book at the moment where real people who write share about writing. It’s to inspire people to write. I’d love to include some of your words and pictures in the book. Your name, age and location would be included and all credit would go to you. I’ve also got a bunch of writing questions that you would answer and anything that resonates with me would go in the book.
    All good if you’re not interested. Just thought I’d check.
    JD

    Like

    • amandaplusheart says

      Wow! That sounds amazing! I would love love love to do that! Let me know what I need to do :)

      Like

      • Yay! Thank-you so much. All I need is your name, age and location.

        I’ll include two of the photos from your blog and these are the words I want to include:

        Because I am studying abroad in South Korea this summer for approximately six weeks, I decided that yes, I needed a journal, and no, I was not going to just buy another Moleskine (though that proposition was very very tempting). So voila! I created my own! I’m so excited to fill up my pages with thoughts and memorabilia.

        Hope that’s okay with you.

        Like

UNLEASH YOUR THOUGHTS HERE

